Change

20272542219_7c8bb33327_b

I am not sure when it started, but I have not been a fan of change for a long time. I have made what many might view as many changes in my life in search for a better career, new school, new house, or even changing cars. To be honest every single one of these decisions is extremely difficult. I always do it with a lot of trepidation.

My stages go like this:

  1. I grumble and gripe.
  2. I find out about the necessity for change.
  3. I find out there might not be any other option.
  4. I complain about the change incessantly.
  5. I try to escape the circumstances.
  6. I end up accepting the change
  7. I end up doing okay.

See change leads into transition, so maybe transition is what I fear. I wonder at times if I have the ability to transition into a new career or learn the culture of a new school as a teacher. The transition is sometimes more difficult than the change. Experts say that you know if a job is a good fit in three weeks. I would have to agree, the trouble is escaping that bad job, sometimes takes 3 months or even years.

What do you do with yourself during that time?

 

4 thoughts on “Change

  1. We are very different, my friend. I love change. LOVE it. Sometimes for no other reason that it is different than it is now, don’t need an actual benefit! But you are in very good company, most people hate change and I wonder if it’s a preference for stability. I don’t know, but I’m glad you’re you!

  2. You are right usually end up doing better than well. During times like these I dig in plow through but also dig in to other areas that are not in transition and try to take comfort in those or develop a new hobby or interests that will help me feel more in control while other things are out of control❤️❤️❤️

Leave a Reply

