Perfect

hqdefault

I think inside of each us, is this idea that we can attain perfection. The perfect job where no stress ever befalls us. The perfect house where nothing ever breaks. The perfect pet who never eats our furniture. The perfect friend or spouse who is always there for us in every way.

I have a sneaking suspicion why this is… 

As humans, I believe we have this innate desire to make things whole or right again. We see relationships every day that inspire or frustrate us. We want relationships that encourage us and help us grow, but we are not sure how to foster those in others and often even ourselves.

As a child of divorce, like so many others, I have hurt to see relationships of all types sour and sever. It is hard to watch it unfold. The actual finality is not so sad, as the road to the split of the relationship wears on everyone involved. The drama of a severing can become exhausting, so it is not surprising that most involved are just ready to have closure.

When I write of this, I am talking about any level of relationship. It could be a boss/employee, a spouse, a friend, a family member, or a friend. I feel that I am often better at the continuing of a friendship when the relationship is pretty tattered. It is hard for me and many others to just accept the person or situation for what it is, because what it is, is brokenness.

We are all broken in some way, we have many issues that make us not trust and doubt others. Why we open up our hearts to some and close off others, is a mystery to me in many ways. Many will say that they just feel “connected” to someone, some say they just respect the person’s character or emotional track record.

In all relationships, we have to bury hurtful things done or said to us. Often those buried hurts resurrect like a zombie coming back for us. They rear their grotesque faces at us when we come into a conflict with the person. We hurl the many times that the person has wronged us. What would happen if you I, decided to just confront in a pleasant way the wrong. What if we were willing to have that conversation?

If someone has wronged you in a way, could you first rate it as something you could forgive, or something you need to talk with them about? I think the issue many times with myself is not wanting to have the difficult conversation, even though I consider myself someone who does not mind conflict, it is often hardest with people who I am not sure how they will take it. I am not scared of the conversation, but actually more how the conversation could go sideways and I could just say “to hell with this”. Being willing to say the hard things, is only the beginning of forgiveness, because once you air your grievance, you reopen the relationship and you set yourself up to trust the person again or you know moving forward the relationship is different.

I think this is one of the many reasons why Jesus asked believers to forgive people 70 x 7, 490 times. Of course, Jesus was being a little funny here, because I think he means we should continually forgive others. If I rate myself on a 1 to 490 scale, I am about a .5 on the forgiveness scale right now, I need to work on it.

How about you? What situations have you been putting off? Will you choose to forgive or confront? Either way, you should not leave this hanging on you? You were made for more than being stuck in this emotional state.

P.S. This is written mostly for me, but maybe you got something out of it. 

One thought on “Perfect

  1. I think a lot of people don’t see or turn a blind eye, that all relationships are work- to some level. It takes the commitment of time and patience and forgiveness along with the good things we get from our relationships with others. We get wrapped up in our lives and forget to give the time deserved to others to keep that bond strong . I know I’m guilty of it. The older I get , it feels like I swerved into the fast lane and I can’t keep up some weeks.
    Great post 👍🏻

Leave a Reply

