Groundhog Day

There are many days when I wake up, and it begins to feel like the movie Groundhog Day. If you have never have seen it, it is a movie where Bill Murray gets stuck in living Groundhog Day over and over again. I love the movie so much, that when my wife and I were on our 10th anniversary, we even visited Punxsutawney Phil. Okay, I might be a little obsessed with this holiday in general.

it_s_groundhog_day_all_over_again___

Think about it, a groundhog wakes up like any other morning, but on this day, he predicts the weather for the entire country. In Punxsutawney, Phil is pretty much the most important animal, by far. On any other day, you can find Phil in an enclosure that can be viewed from the outside or inside the public library (in the children’s section). Of course, I had to go see Phil, I sat and watched him a few minutes, I was the oldest and biggest kid in the section. Phil appeared happy, but I am sure he is just counting down the days to his next big day.

punxsutawney-phil-750x512

So, back to me, waking up every day, often feeling that days repeat themselves over and over again. I have had a lot of interruptions in my thinking lately. On Monday, I won an award for teaching at my school. It is my first award in seventeen years of teaching. It was the third time I was nominated for the award over a span of twelve years. I worked many repetitive days to get to a place where I have been recognized for my work with students.

The next morning, I woke up feeling transformed, because the night before I was the first person to walk up out of 30 winners (one at each area school in Cary). The speaker spoke my name and schools that I attended, then read some other pertinent information. Applause scattered throughout the crowd and I had my moment captured by a few pictures.

IMG_1002[1288]
Honor a Teacher Award from the Cary Chamber
IMG_1003[1289]
Discovery Award from the Ashworth Family
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After the presentation, the sponsor asked to talk with me behind the stage. He told me that after I left, every other contestant talked about me and said I was doing a lot of good work for our students. I knew that they all told him about the formal and informal mentoring I have started at my school. I had to keep it together, as I felt that I had been formally recognized as someone whose passion is mentoring students. I still feel elated, I feel recognized, I feel like Punxsutawney Phil.

I may never win another award, and I am okay with that, because although the plaque, trophy, sculpture, and monies were amazing, it meant most for me to have my other staff members, recognize me for what I want to be known as, a mentor to students. I needed that. If I ever felt there were cracks in my resolve as a mentor, it could be this year. I needed this moment.

So now, I have escaped this endless cycle, I shall live differently…

 

One thought on “Groundhog Day

  1. Big congrats to someone truly worthy of this honor. I think you’ve found your niche where you can provide the impact to the youth in your area. I’m sure you’ve made a tremendous example to children and adults as well. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

Leave a Reply

